Skip to content

FEMA IS 212.B: Introduction to Unified Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA) Answers

1. With your understanding of the definition of mitigation, which of the following is true:
 A. Mitigation projects create safer communities and saves money through lower post-disaster rebuilding/replacement costs.
B. Mitigation funding can be used to improve a community’s response and recovery programs.
C. No mitigation project can eliminate 100% of future risk.
D. Mitigation projects seek to provide a short-term impact on hazard risk.

2. During the Application Review phase of the Federal award life cycle, all approvable grant applications are awarded.

3. Which of the following is NOT a process in the HMA Federal award life cycle?
A. Federal Award
B. Risk Assessment
C. Activity Implementation
D. Federal Award Closeout

4. Which processes are conducted during he Application Development phase of the Federal award life cycle?
A. Develop the Cost Estimate.
B. Develop the Scope of Work.
C. Develop the Work Schedule.
D. All of the above.

5. All HMA grant programs provide funding after a Federally-declared disaster.

6. All HMA grant applications must include a Scope of Work, Schedule, and Cost Estimate, and must be cost-effective, technically feasible, and comply with Environmental and Historic Preservation requirements.

7. Which statement about how mitigation projects provide value is true?
A. A report by the Congressional Budget Office showed that on average, future losses were reduced by about $3 for every dollar spent on mitigation projects.
B. A 2005 Loss Avoidance Study completed by the Multihazard Mitigation Council Study found that an investment of $3.5 billion saved $14 billion.
C. Mitigation projects reduce post-disaster disruption and allow quicker rebuilding.
D. All of the above.

8. Mitigation project types must be outlined in the mitigation plan.

9. Mitigation capabilities include community-wide risk reduction projects that protect against natural hazards.

10. The difference between a benefit-cost analysis (BCA) and a Loss Avoidance Study (LAS) is:
A. There is no difference because a BCA and LAS are the same.
B. A BCA and LAS are the same thing, except that one is an analysis and the other is a report.
C. BCA demonstrates the cost-effectiveness of FEMA’s mitigation programs, while an LAS analyzes hazard risk.
D. A BCA is completed during the grant application phase for a proposed mitigation measure, while an LAS is completed after a project has been tested by the hazard event it was designed for.

11. Which of the following is NOT part of the mitigation planning process?
A. Planning Process Description
B. Mitigation Strategy
C. Activity Identification
D. Plan Adoption Process

12. After a Federal award is issued, mitigation project and planning activities must be implemented in accordance with Federal award requirements.

13. FEMA-approved State, Indian Tribal, and Local Hazard Mitigation Plans are valid for:
A. Five years.
B. Three years.
C. Ten years.
D. It depends on other plans that the mitigation plan is linked to.

14. The first step in the mitigation process is:
A. Securing local cost-share funding.
B. Searching for a project manager.
C. Hazard mitigation planning.
D. Selecting which projects you want to implement.

15. Which HMA program has a goal to reduce or eliminate claims made against the National Flood Insurance Program?
A. Flood Mitigation Assistance Program (FMA)
B. Pre-Disaster Mitigation Program (PDM)
C. Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP)
D. Hazard Mitigation Assistance Program (HMAP)

16. The two electronic application systems used for the HMA grant programs are:
A. Mitigation Application Grant Processing System (MAGPS) and MitApp
B. MitApp and iMit
C. Electronic Grants Management System (eGrants) and HMGP System
D. FEMAMit and FEMA-Hazard Mitigation Grant Process (FEMA-HMGP)

17. Which HMA program provides Federal awards for all hazards mitigation planning and the implementation of mitigation projects for a variety of hazards prior to a disaster event?
A. Flood Mitigation Assistance Program (FMA)
B. Pre-Disaster Mitigation Program (PDM)
C. Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP)
D. Hazard Mitigation Assistance Program (HMAP)